Christmastime is Here

Hey all…

I have been a lazy blogger lately. I admit it. But I should be revving back up to full swing at some point in December. Or maybe I will wait until January and make a New Year’s Resolution.

First…some identity crisis. Blogs are about mashing together all of a person’s different interests, right? Well, if men are like waffles, my waffle is filled with cooking, faith and spirituality, hospitality, artsy-fartsy, writing, and psychology. How does one blog about all of that at once? It’ll be a cookifahoartsywricology blog! Say that ten times fast.

And on that, I read a blog post today that I loved. And it was about food. And God. Thanks to Joe Pastry for his observations and musings on the fine art of baking. I love reading his blog; I feel so much smarter.

This year, inspired by the Baked cookbook and abundance of cookies, I decided to make chocolate truffles. The process was somewhat of a fail, since the first round of tempering chocolate involved 45 minutes of hand mixing straight. I guess it was a workout. But I was bitter for the rest of the day. I mastered the process, and now I feel more like an expert. I made milk chocolate almond ones and dark chocolate coffee ones…and now I am working on the pinnacle of holiday treats…rum balls. I’ve got to take some pictures…

On another note, I am fine tuning the novel. I would love to have friends sample it and tell me what they think…so if you read this and are interested, leave me a message or write me an email. I am only in the final stages of rough draft creation…so it is going to be painful in parts. It is exciting to have gotten this far, though. Is it wrong that I think I should finish it before I have any kids?

Faith and phil0sophy-wise, the thought of Jesus, the Son of God, being a baby, has really hit me this Christmas. I keep thinking of all of the contrasts between the throne room of God and the manger in Bethlehem. I wonder if Jesus had shadows of memories, you know, like that feeling you have been someplace before? I also have thought about traditions more. I even wrote a blog post that I never posted on the subject. Perhaps that will come out this week? I’ll see what I can do.

If I don’t get to it before the end of the week- Merry Christmas to you all!

Published by

apparentbook

I like the sun in San Diego. It is out almost every day. I normally follow it as it ushers in the day, then leave with it in the evening. Day in and day out it is beautiful. Sadly, most days I don't think much about it being there.

Leave a Reply

